Top 10 Epsom Derby Winners of All time

Top 10 Epsom Derby Winners of All time

The Derby at Epsom Downs is the most prestigious Flat horse race in Europe. The British Classic, which is open to three-year-olds, often features the best of a generation every June.

Here is a look at the top 10 best winners of the race.

Camelot (2012)

Aidan O’Brien has won the Derby more times than any other trainer. He is bidding to prevail for a ninth time this year with 3-1 second favourite Stone Age, one of the leading horse racing tips for the race. One of O’Brien’s wins came in 2012 when Camelot added the Derby to his 2,000 Guineas victory. The impressive Derby winner just fell short of the Triple Crown, as he finished second in the St Leger.

Workforce (2010)

Legendary trainer Sir Michael Stoute won the Derby for a fifth time in 2010. His colt Workforce blew his rivals away, breaking the record time in the race. The Subsequent Arc winner prevailed after 2:31:33 and no horse since has bettered that time.

Galileo (2001)

Former Champion Three-Year-Old Colt Galileo won the Derby, Irish Derby and King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes in 2001. He has since gone on to have an incredible career at stud, as he has sired five Derby winners in New Approach, Ruler Of The World, Australia, Anthony Van Dyck and Serpentine.

Generous (1991)

With comfortable successes in the Derby, Irish Derby and King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Generous proved to be one of the best 1m4f horses of the modern era. He scored in the Derby by five lengths in an impressive performance on the Downs in 1991.

Troy (1979)

With eight wins from 11 starts, Troy had an excellent career on the track. His best victory came in the 1979 Derby. He was ridden by Willie Carson and the pair stretched away from their rivals in the closing stages to win by seven lengths.

Mill Reef (1971)

Champion racehorse Mill Reef is considered one of the greatest of all time. His Derby win was the start of a special stretch of victories on the track, as he also won the Eclipse, King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes, and Arc later that year.

Sea Bird (1965)

Sea Bird had a huge reputation going into the 1965 Derby. He justified that confidence by winning the British Classic by two lengths. The French-bred horse never came off the bridle in the race in what was an effortless performance.

Sea The Stars (2009)

Whenever the conversation about the greatest racehorse of all time comes up, Sea The Stars is always in the mix. John Ox’s runner prevailed in the Derby in 2009. He proved his class and stamina at Epsom. It was his second Classic success of the year, after the 2,000 Guineas.

Nijinsky (1970)

Nijinsky remains the last colt to win the English Triple Crown. The son of Northern Dancer won a very strong renewal of the Derby in 1970. He was a very versatile horse, as he prevailed over trips between 6f and 1m6f throughout his career.

Shergar (1981)

Arguably the most impressive Derby winner of all time, Shergar was successful by 12 lengths in 1981. It remains the largest margin of victory in the prestigious Flat contest. His performance is still described as one of the best seen on a racecourse in the UK.

Hopefully, we see more names added to the top 10 list over the next few years in this important Flat race.

Author: Gus Barge

Leave a Reply